Products and services

ISO 45001 is due to be published on 12 March. Are you ready?

Health and safety professionals and organisations all over the world have been eagerly awaiting the publication of the final draft of the ISO 45001 standard. 


As this is a new ISO standard, the structure and content has been completely revised, with new and enhanced requirements throughout. The new structure is arranged into 10 sections (Annex SL): 
1. Scope (of the standard)
2. Normative References (of the standard)
3. Terms and Definitions (of the standard)
4. Context of the Organization  
5. Leadership  
6. Planning  
7. Support
8. Operation  
9. Performance Evaluation  
10. Improvement

The requirements of the standard are defined in sections 4-10 inclusively and are capable of being aligned to other recently revised ISO management systems, such as ISO 9001 or ISO 14001. Remember - as with all management systems, it is not about just complying with the individual clauses but how these requirements relate to each other, and work together to provide an effective system.

The new ISO standard builds on previous OHSMS standard (OHSAS 18001) and promotes the integration of the health and safety system in to the core management of the organisation. The requirements are designed and required to interrelate to other sections, performance, information and changes and cannot operate effectively in isolation.

Whether you’re considering obtaining ISO 45001 certification from scratch or already have an OHSAS 18001 and are looking migrate, the certification process is similar. 

Whilst we wait for the standard to be published, book a Gap Analysis with an NQA assessor to review your current management system and highlight any gaps against ISO 45001. Contact NQA to book your visit by emailing or calling 0800 052 2424.

For more information on ISO 45001, visit our website:


Add new comment